Pages: 1 ... 10 11 [12] 13 14 ... 22
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: Introduction Thread Reply #220 on: January 17, 2012, 12:49:10 PM
Firedog62

View Profile
« Reply #220 on: January 17, 2012, 12:49:10 PM »

Hi
I'm Chris and I live in Northern Virginia and I'm kinda new to the bikepacking thing. When I was younger I did a lot of backpacking with the boy scouts and loved it. Combining biking and camping seems to be a great idea to get away from the rat race. I haven't posted much but I really like reading about how everyone is setting up there bike and the race reports.

Thanks

Topic Name: Introduction Thread Reply #221 on: January 31, 2012, 04:03:51 AM
arno

View Profile
« Reply #221 on: January 31, 2012, 04:03:51 AM »

Hello! My name is Arno and I'm from Germany (south of Munich, near the bavarian alps). I'm new to bikepacking but have some experience hiking  and bike-touring  in the Alps, Scandinavia and Southamerica. This year I will take the full plunge with bikepacking and travel to the US for 3 month in April. First Destination will be the Arizona Trail, and if my bike arrives with me in time, I plan to line up at the AZTR grand depart - and then follow the tracks of the real racers at my more leisurely pace Smiley
- in the next weeks I will pester you with questions about gear and more importantly the US specific things Wink and hopefully see one or the other in person in April!
Thanks for this fantastic site!

Here a pic of me bike-muleing in Bolivia:

Topic Name: Introduction Thread Reply #222 on: February 06, 2012, 02:02:45 PM
revelo

View Profile
« Reply #222 on: February 06, 2012, 02:02:45 PM »

Hi all, my name is Frank Revelo and I just started bike touring last year, after many years backpacking experience (Pacific Crest Trail, Appalachian trail, various trails in Europe). Here is a report of my tour of Death Valley and Mojave national preserve, mostly on dirt roads:

http://frankrevelo.com/hiking/trips_2011_11.htm