Pages: [1]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: seat post mounted rack as a seat bag alternative on: June 30, 2013, 05:31:46 PM
Racingguy04

View Profile
« on: June 30, 2013, 05:31:46 PM »

I'm just getting into bike packing and I've made a frame bag and I'm using an OR lateral dry bag as my handle bar bag, but I haven't pulled the trigger on a seat bag yet. I have a little trouble justifying spending $150+ on a bag and I don't think I can make my own, though maybe eventually... I'm thinking for now of using a seat post mounted rack with a waterproof stuff sack strapped on it instead. Anybody have an opinion or experience with this? I'm thinking of this rack http://www.rei.com/product/831420/delta-cycles-usa-post-haste-seatpost-bike-rack-special-buy

I already have an OR waterproof stuff sack and the rack is pretty cheap, my main worry is the rack breaking from the repeated stress of bouncing down the trail but I don't know how realistic of a worry this is.

Thanks for the advice

Topic Name: seat post mounted rack as a seat bag alternative Reply #1 on: June 30, 2013, 05:47:49 PM
AZTtripper

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2013, 05:47:49 PM »

It's a pretty realistic worry. They do tend to break and it puts extra stress on the frame. If you didn't overload it you would likely be fine tho.

People sometimes just strap a bag on to the seat rails. Not the best option but it can be made to work.

I would at least try to find a way to strap the bag on without adding additional weight.

I know one guy who would use road bike tubes to tie his sleeping bag stuff sack right under the seat.

I've had a seat bag for several years now and they are worth the money.

Topic Name: seat post mounted rack as a seat bag alternative Reply #2 on: June 30, 2013, 09:35:38 PM
Racingguy04

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2013, 09:35:38 PM »