Pages: [1]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: Bikepacking Base Build on: November 29, 2011, 07:54:06 AM
Belmontbiker

View Profile
« on: November 29, 2011, 07:54:06 AM »

Hello Everyone,

Newbie here hoping to get into overnight/possible weekend bikepacking come spring.  I currently have a Siren John Henry MTB that I plan to use.  My main question is, should I pick up a Fargo V2 fork for it?  I like the idea of the anything cages, but have 0 experience with loaded riding.  Will I be happier using a frame bag, seat bag & sling?  Let me know what you think.  My plan is to get my feet wet with a couple 24 hour trips and see where it goes from there.  Hoping start building my kit as the snow begins to fly here in W. MI.  Any info would be greatly appreciated!  I'll continue to comb through the forums as well. 

Thanks!
Jason

Topic Name: Bikepacking Base Build Reply #1 on: November 29, 2011, 09:35:51 AM
Curtis C

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2011, 09:35:51 AM »

Hey Jason, I am in the same process. I'd suggest sticking with the fork you have until you decide you will indeed need that space.
As for the gear, I would start with stuff that can be used universally on different bikes(seatbag and handlebar harness). If you can get all your stuff in those items for your trial trips just stick with that. If you pursue bigger adventures then go with a frame bag. If its not your cup of tea the seatbag and bar harness will be fairly easy to move compared to a frame specific bag.

Take a look at 12wheels stuff in the classified. He makes quality gear at a reasonable price and can get it to you quickly.
http://www.bikepacking.net/forum/index.php/topic,2427.0.html

Topic Name: Bikepacking Base Build Reply #2 on: November 29, 2011, 11:33:58 AM
Dumpster Juice

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2011, 11:33:58 AM »