Pages: 1 [2]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: Getting my first gear, please critique my picks :) Reply #20 on: January 06, 2009, 04:54:40 PM
neve_r_est

View Profile WWW
« Reply #20 on: January 06, 2009, 04:54:40 PM »

I've got a Wingnut MPS pack and a Nemo Gogo bivy/tent.

I've been using the Wingnut for a few years and it's truly made all my Camelbaks obselete. The lower weight distribution is a very noticable improvement and being able to get to stuff in the wing pockets while riding is brilliant. The MPS is a modular pack with three detachable parts:  a large main pod with a bladder pocket and mesh outer pocket, a small pod with a couple flat organizing sleeves, and the main lumbar pack and shoulder straps. The main lumbar pack has a bladder pocket, a pair of suprisingly large zippered wing pockets, a pair or mesh wing pockets, and a very adaptable strap/elastic beavertail for straping in clothing, groceries, small dogs, ect... All the zippers and compartments are waterproof. Not sure what the pack material is, looks kinda like Gridstop, tough stuff. Maybe not the lightest pack out there, but it's been a blissfull gear investment for me.