Pages: [1]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: handlebar bag / brake hose interference on: July 22, 2013, 10:22:37 AM
morgan

View Profile
« on: July 22, 2013, 10:22:37 AM »

Howdy. I'm new to bikepacking. I did a practice trip this weekend, packed as I think I'll be packed for my trip next month, using some new bags that Scott Felter of Porcelain Rocket made for me. They're great bags! My brake hoses (Avid Elixir 9) are blocked by the handlebar bag, a "Mission Control" bag. Here's a picture:

Handlebar mounted right; four straps on bar, not two by fnagrom, on Flickr

Am I doing it wrong? I haven't tried putting the bag under the hoses, but I don't see how that would help me. The hoses have strain relief boots on them, and they felt fine. I don't have the bag excessively loaded; maybe 4lbs total with tent, bag, pad, rain gear, camera and some little items in the front pouch. (Didn't weigh it.)

I'd ask Scott, but he's in the middle of a big trip across Australia right now.

Thanks!

Morgan

Topic Name: handlebar bag / brake hose interference Reply #1 on: July 23, 2013, 08:05:38 AM
Colorado Cool Breeze

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2013, 08:05:38 AM »

Cable interference is the number 1 complaint about the handlebar bags.
Some put on longer cables to go around the bag, some don't care and let the cables do what they do.
Others switch out their bars for something like Jones H bars. To move the bag forward or mount the bag on top.

hth

Topic Name: handlebar bag / brake hose interference Reply #2 on: July 23, 2013, 01:33:10 PM
Area54

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2013, 01:33:10 PM »

Looks like you need to rotate your levers up and strap under the hoses.

Amazing where riding a bike will take you...

Topic Name: handlebar bag / brake hose interference Reply #3 on: July 24, 2013, 09:00:31 AM
Yogi the Barry

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2013, 09:00:31 AM »