Pages: [1]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: Help A Newbie - Critique A Bike!! on: July 09, 2021, 09:50:36 AM
VickoRano

skiddin thru life like a fat crocodile

View Profile
« on: July 09, 2021, 09:50:36 AM »

Hey there, my name is Vicky!

Since this is my first post on this forum & since I'm a complete beginner at bikepacking, (I haven't consistently ridden my bike since High School so I'm very weak & out of practice,) I decided I it would be best to start things off by just showing you my bike & hearing what everyone has to say.

Little bit of background on this bike:  my parents bought it in 2007 after my old mountain bike got stolen, so I'd have a quick way to get around campus when I started college. It's a Schwinn Skyliner women's style frame that I rebuilt back in August of 2017 with the help of my father who was, at the time, receiving chemotherapy for leukemia, which had been diagnosed just a year prior. It was probably the last time I got to do anything like that with my dad, as he was never able to recover. He passed away here at home on Dec 12 2019 at 10:45pm. I was with him.

I replaced the handlebar grips, the entire gear shift assembly, the brakes & pads, chain, sprockets, took apart the wheels to clean & regrease with brand new ball bearings (my dad had to help me with that - still had his strength in spite of the long hospital stay & chemo!) I put on heavy duty slime tubes, tire liners & Kenda Kross semi-slick mountain bike tires (hybrid tires that roll smooth but the edges have a toothy tread.) I chose those three options for the tires because I had a few accidents riding around the city, having a tire pop & walking the bike home for an hour. Also, fuck slippery gravel.