Pages: [1]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: How many liters/cc of bag space do you usually have? on: February 11, 2016, 06:51:41 PM
Biggus Duckus

View Profile
« on: February 11, 2016, 06:51:41 PM »

I got my first bikepacking bike and I'm looking at bags for trips that would probably be a maximum of 3 days without R&R.  I don't have any ultralight gear so I'm buying the biggest seat bag and handlebar bag that I can.  Here is what I have researched:

Seat bag: 17.5 L
Partial frame bag: 5.3 L
Handlebar bag: 20 L
Gas tank: 0.8 L
Two bottle cages

Total: 43 L (+5 if I buy an accessory handlebar bag)

Is that good? Decent? I know that's a manageable amount of space for a couple days backpacking, but I'm very new to this scene.  How much space do you guys usually take with you? Will I regret not buying a full frame bag?

Thanks!

Topic Name: How many liters/cc of bag space do you usually have? Reply #1 on: February 11, 2016, 07:55:51 PM
Adam Alphabet

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2016, 07:55:51 PM »

I got my first bikepacking bike and I'm looking at bags for trips that would probably be a maximum of 3 days without R&R.  I don't have any ultralight gear so I'm buying the biggest seat bag and handlebar bag that I can.  Here is what I have researched:

Two bottle cages

Is that good? Decent? I know that's a manageable amount of space for a couple days backpacking, but I'm very new to this scene.  How much space do you guys usually take with you? Will I regret not buying a full frame bag?

Thanks!

Full frame bags are worth the space over a partial as you can jam a lot of small heavy things (snacks, batteries, tools, spares,etc) in those little nooks and crannies that would otherwise be dead space or air between where your two bottles are sitting. A 2L bladder in a full frame pack is more space efficient than a partial with 2 bottles.