Pages: [1]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: Newbie completing my setup with a ton of gear questions on: February 06, 2013, 06:10:53 PM
EpicRider

View Profile
« on: February 06, 2013, 06:10:53 PM »

hi I'm Todd and I am New to the bikepacking community. I'm looking for some quality advice on gear. This all started with a renewed interest in singletrack riding and now it is a full blown obsession. I want to ride as much as possible and see some nice views so I figure the next logical step is bikepacking. I have considerable backpacking experience but never had the need for the next level of lightweight camping gear.
Here is what I have assembled so far:
-Specialized Epic 29er ~27.5 lbs and getting lighter as we go.
-Hennessey Hammock explorer w snakeskins (looking into lightweight mods)
-Commissioned jobs for a saddle bag and custom frame bag
-Mammut lithium 20 pack
-all of the necessary clothing w/marmot precip as shell
-bike tool kit, first aid, etc
-2 camelbak bladders

I am looking to find :
-a really light sleeping bag that packs down tiny
- gas tank for top tube
- best personal stove option (jetboil vs msr vs primus) vs cold food
-any advice i need for my first trip and how much storage you guys think I will need
-advice on these steripens i keep seeing
-food suggestions

I have already scoured a lot of the forums to see what info is out there and found decent answer to some of these topics but most arent from 2012-2013. I' looking the most comfortable singletrack setup that keeps the weight stable so I can still get some challenging riding done and light weight enough to keep me going and not killing myself.

I am planning to find some trips around the southeast as i live in Auburn, AL. The Pinhoti will probably be my first ride with my new setup.

Topic Name: Newbie completing my setup with a ton of gear questions Reply #1 on: February 06, 2013, 08:30:08 PM
bartspedden

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2013, 08:30:08 PM »