Pages: [1]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: Staying dry in a bivy sack on: November 17, 2013, 05:13:21 AM
elric14

View Profile
« on: November 17, 2013, 05:13:21 AM »

Good morning all,
I am brand new to bikepacking.  I have hiked in the past and camped in a tent.  To cut down on weight and bulk, I decided to try a bivy sack as my shelter. 
Last night I camped in my back yard to test the bivy before I venture out on the bike.  Temps were sub freezing, and I was warm for most of the night.  My set up is a EMS Boreal 0° Sleeping Bag inside an Outdoor Research Alpine Bivy. 
My problem:  By morning, condensation had built up so much that my sleeping bag was moist and starting to constrict, and the zippers of the bivy were frozen shut.  Should I switch back to tent for cold weather overnights, or is there a way to control humidity in the bivy?   
Any insights people have would be greatly appreciated.  I have a week to rectify this problem for next weekends adventure.

And this, our life, exempt from public haunt, finds tongues in trees, books in the running brooks, sermons in stones, and good in everything. -WS

Topic Name: Staying dry in a bivy sack Reply #1 on: November 17, 2013, 07:36:03 AM
12wheels

Bolder Bikepacking Gear

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2013, 07:36:03 AM »

If you're a member of Backpackinglight you can read an excellent article which addresses the problems you encountered.
http://www.bikepacking.net/forum/index.php?topic=6241.0;topicseen
If you are not a paying member the forum has a follow up discussion with useful information.
http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/forums/thread_display.html?forum_thread_id=68395
« Last Edit: November 17, 2013, 08:00:02 AM by 12wheels » Logged

Topic Name: Staying dry in a bivy sack Reply #2 on: November 18, 2013, 03:22:33 PM
evdog

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2013, 03:22:33 PM »