Pages: [1]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: Tire Plugs -- tips and tricks please on: May 04, 2013, 07:44:10 AM
aaron w

View Profile
« on: May 04, 2013, 07:44:10 AM »

I'm new to using tire plugs but I can tell they are something that I would like to include in my repair kit.  I would appreciate any tips or tricks that folks have learned using these things.  Also is there a particular brand that is best?

On a recent outing I had a cut in my tread that wouldn't seal.  My friend put in 2 plugs with a dab of superglue.  This worked pretty well but eventually the plugs got pulled out of the tire.  We tried again with the same result.  Eventually I put a tube in.  I can see the potential of this type of repair but perhaps our method wasn't quite right??

Anyway,  all advice welcome! Thanks. 

Topic Name: Tire Plugs -- tips and tricks please Reply #1 on: May 04, 2013, 07:23:39 PM
AZTtripper

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2013, 07:23:39 PM »

Wrap some tape around the whole thing to hold the plugs in. Not a permanent fix but at least farther down the trail if not home. I start with electrical tape so as not have duct tape the final layer leaving residue on the rim.

I have always carried duct tape by wrapping some around my pump. The electrical tape idea came from someone else.

Topic Name: Tire Plugs -- tips and tricks please Reply #2 on: May 05, 2013, 06:34:38 AM
aaron w

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2013, 06:34:38 AM »

Thanks for that.  I gather from your reply that it is common for plugs to get pulled out?  I'll add a bit more duct and elec tape to my kit...

How much of the plug should be in the tire, and how much sticking out?  Should the part that's sticking out be cut off with a knife to help prevent it from sticking to a rock and getting pulled out? 

Keep the tips coming! 

Topic Name: Tire Plugs -- tips and tricks please Reply #3 on: June 20, 2013, 03:50:13 PM
Yogi the Barry

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2013, 03:50:13 PM »