Pages: [1] 2
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: Ultimate open-budget bikepacking setup? on: February 13, 2012, 12:48:20 PM
gottabefunky

View Profile
« on: February 13, 2012, 12:48:20 PM »

I'm going to treat myself to a midlife bikepacking adventure. I'd be starting from scratch, but since this would be a once-in-a-lifetime thing, I'm considering throwing out all the stops when it comes to gear.

So if money was no object, what would your ultimate gear setup be? Bike, racks, clothes, tech, you name it - what's the absolute best out there?

Thanks!

Topic Name: Ultimate open-budget bikepacking setup? Reply #1 on: February 13, 2012, 04:08:48 PM
sbear55

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2012, 04:08:48 PM »

I know what I'd get for a bike.

Kent Eriksen 29er
Full XTR 2x10
Enve/DT240 wheels

I'm new to the bikepacking game but the ordering process with Porcelain Rocket for my bags has been outstanding.

Topic Name: Ultimate open-budget bikepacking setup? Reply #2 on: February 13, 2012, 07:05:16 PM
paxton coyote

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2012, 07:05:16 PM »

I've never had the option of "money being no object" but if it was, I'd still settle for a Salsa Fargo like I have but may splurge on the titanium model! I'd love a Western Mountaineering sleeping bag too but that won't happen in my life either!

Topic Name: Ultimate open-budget bikepacking setup? Reply #3 on: February 13, 2012, 07:29:43 PM
bmike-vt

View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2012, 07:29:43 PM »

I've never had the option of "money being no object" but if it was, I'd still settle for a Salsa Fargo like I have but may splurge on the titanium model! I'd love a Western Mountaineering sleeping bag too but that won't happen in my life either!

+1 on the frame and the bag(s)

And a maybe few lighter bits of gear.

I'd spend whats left over and buy airline tickets and ...

Topic Name: Ultimate open-budget bikepacking setup? Reply #4 on: February 14, 2012, 06:08:57 AM