Pages: [1] 2
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: why not small panniers on: February 20, 2016, 05:22:14 AM
vermont

View Profile
« on: February 20, 2016, 05:22:14 AM »

In another post about "how many liters/cc of bag space..." someone named Andy Marx posted a pic of an absolutely awesome idea of using fork braze ons to add water bottle racks (seriously, I absolutely love that idea).  This got me thinking about why would you not use a touring fork to mount panniers instead???
I'm new to the idea of "bikepacking" but an confused why people completely do away with traditional techniques.  Mountain bike with suspension and trail obstacles I fully understand, but it appears many people are using fire roads and dirt roads.  I also understand that traditional panniers are big enough to pack the kitchen sink but small panniers are available.  Personally I went from two back panniers to two front panniers and came to the conclusion that four small panniers are the best, but this was all on roads/dirt roads.
Why not use four small panniers placed correctly?  If you are going without suspension then it seems two small mid mountain front panniers and two small lower mounted rear panniers would do everything a frame bag, handlebar bag and seat post bag would do the same.
I'm not trying to step on toes or get anyone mad.  I am genuinely very curious about new techniques of packing and the adventures that can come from them, but I have always wondered why people shun panniers completely (mt bikes with suspension aside).
Thanks,

Topic Name: why not small panniers Reply #1 on: February 20, 2016, 08:11:17 AM
dh024

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2016, 08:11:17 AM »