Pages: [1]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: East African Bikepacking on: September 12, 2013, 12:10:06 AM
cameronmehl

View Profile
« on: September 12, 2013, 12:10:06 AM »

The idea is to ride between each CURE International hospital in East Africa (Ethiopia, Kenya, Uganda, Malawi, Zambia) to increase exposure for them. I work for the hospital in Kenya and am currently able to ride around here, but as far as logistics goes for the other countries, I'm having some significant trouble.

Using google maps the trip is around 3300 miles. Definitely would love to take advantage of the amazing single track in these countries, but am unaware of just how to link them up. Maybe I won't be able to because of the lack of info on the singletracks? There is often a dirt road next to paved roads or singletrack next to dirt roads out here, so I suppose that's my best bet.

I'm just starting out on planning, but would like to do this, if possible, in April of 2014.

So what do you guys think? How would you guys start to plan for this ride?

Here is the Google Maps walking route between the hospitals: https://www.google.com/maps?saddr=CURE+international+hospital+Addis+Ababa,+Ethiopia&daddr=CURE+International+hospital+mbale,+uganda+to:AIC-CURE+International+Children%E2%80%99s+Hospital+of+Kenya,+Kijabe+Road,+Kijabe,+Kenya+to:CURE+hospital+blantyre,+malawi+to:Beit+CURE+Hospital,+Great+North,+Lusaka,+Zambia&hl=en&ie=UTF8&ll=-3.381824,33.706055&spn=25.195799,39.199219&sll=-2.547988,33.925781&sspn=25.214055,39.199219&geocode=FU02igAdXodPAiGdjhLi6TpiBCkX-5KwEY9LFjGdjhLi6TpiBA%3BFX9lEAAdEWsJAiEs34HZSZBfmCkRvNaLDbZ4FzEs34HZSZBfmA%3BFRCM8f8dmmAuAiHuWcGqhivQuSk_HaWijiopGDHuWcGqhivQuQ%3BFfzhDv8dSkwWAiHnF95Ypt68IyljYX91vkXYGDHnF95Ypt68Iw%3BFZqNFf8dKYCvASGUfyKKmTjMlym_V3xTIvVAGTGUfyKKmTjMlw&oq=Beit+CURE&dirflg=w&mra=ps&t=m&z=5

Topic Name: East African Bikepacking Reply #1 on: September 12, 2013, 05:22:51 PM
dgjessee

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2013, 05:22:51 PM »